After months of deliberation, my husband and I decided to pull the plug on a huge chunk of cable channels. Everything beyond channel 20 disappeared yesterday just moments after I called Comcast and demanded a downgrade to Basic cable. They tried everything to keep us on our triple play plan, offering us promotion after promotion. I finally told them enough with the deals, we just want less tv.

We still have our ipods, internet, aim, email, video games and cell phones. Isn’t that enough? I hear it now — the groans of tv withdrawal. The lifeline to Miley, Carly and Bikini Bottom cutoff at the jugular. Here’s a little synopsis of our life without 200+ channels of tv.

Day Two on Basic Cable: Children sitting in family room early Sunday morning watching the only cartoon available, a Spanish dubbed Jimmy Neutron. Husband and I look on from kitchen enjoying every minute of it.

Later that day: Children take advantage of the great outdoors, without being told to do so. Skateboards, bikes, scooters… ahh…and look..my children…cruising down the hill.

Loving the great outdoors

Outdoors at the frog pond.

